Cynthia Newton Heads Uniform Jury Instruction Committee

Cynthia Newton recently took over as Chair of the Oregon State Bar’s Uniform Jury Instruction Committee.

The Committee is comprised of attorneys and judges from around the state.  The Bar’s Board of Governors has charged the Committee with promulgating new instructions as well as revising existing instructions (and verdict forms) used by lawyers and judges across the state in civil jury trials.  The Committee tracks changes in the law (both legislative and judicial) to ensure that new instructions are created where necessary and that existing instructions accurately and fairly state the law.

The instructions adopted are routinely requested by lawyers presenting civil trials to juries statewide.

Cynthia is pleased to report that the Oregon State Bar Board of Governors has recently made the Uniform Civil Jury Instructions available to dues paying legal practitioners on line without charge.

To assist the Committee in its goal of constantly providing accurate, helpful and clearly written published instructions, Cynthia welcomes ideas and input from the Oregon bar and bench.  She can be contacted at or 503-228-5222.

Other 2011 Committee members include:  Secretary Scott Jonsson (Anderson and Nyberg/Portland), Brian Cox (Cox & Associates/Salem), Billie Eidson (DOJ/Salem), Rick Lundblade (Black, Chapman/Medford), Chris Piekarski (Allstate Staff Counsel/Portland), Hon. Stephen Bushong (Mult. Co. Cir. Court), Bryan Gruetter (Law Office of Bryan Gruetter/Bend), Dan Lindahl (Lindahl Law Firm/Portland), Courtney Angeli (Buchanan, Angeli, Altshul/Porland), Michael Casper (DOJ/Salem), Holli Houston (Kilmer, Voorhees & Laurick/Portland), Matthew Kalmanson (Hoffman, Hart & Wagner/Portland), Julie Smith (Cosgrave, Vergeer, Kester/Portland) and Julie Vacura (Larkins, Vacura/Portland).

If you are an attorney or judge interested in serving on the Committee, please contact Cynthia or Committee Bar Liason, Linda Kruschke.

Cynthia Newton is a personal injury attorney for Thomas, Coon, Newton & Frost.